For Authors

The quarterly Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools (LSHSS)—an online-only, international, peer-reviewed scholarly journal—has been published continuously since 1970. 

Online ISSN: 1558-9129
Print ISSN: 0161-1461


LSHSS publishes peer-reviewed research and other scholarly articles pertaining to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology in the schools, focusing on children and adolescents. The journal is an international outlet for clinical research and is designed to promote development and analysis of approaches concerning the delivery of services to the school-aged population. LSHSS seeks to advance evidence-based practice by disseminating the results of new studies as well as providing a forum for critical reviews and meta-analyses of previously published work.


The broad field of audiology and speech-language pathology as practiced in schools, including aural rehabilitation; augmentative and alternative communication; childhood apraxia of speech; classroom acoustics; cognitive impairment; craniofacial disorders; fluency disorders; hearing-assistive technology; language disorders; literacy disorders including reading, writing, and spelling; motor speech disorders; speech sound disorders; swallowing, dysphagia, and feeding disorders; voice disorders.

Impact Factor

The 2016 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2017) Journal Impact Factor is 1.193, and the 5-year Impact Factor is 1.882. LSHSS ranked 17th of 25 journals in the Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology category of the Science Citation Index Expanded, as well as 49th of 180 journals in the Linguistics category and 34th of 70 journals in the Rehabilitation category of the Social Science Citation Index.


Dr. Shelley Gray (2016–2018)
Department of Speech and Hearing Science
Arizona State University
PO Box 870102
Tempe, AZ 95287-0101
Phone:(480) 965-6796


Patricia J. Brooks, CUNY Language Learning Laboratory (2017)
Kerry Danahy Ebert, Rush University (2017–2019)
Ignatius Nip, San Diego State University (2017–2018)
Andrea L. Pittman, Arizona State University (2017)
Patrick Proctor, Boston College (2017–2019)
Cynthia S. Puranik, Georgia State University (2017–2018)

Editorial Board Members

Sharon Armon-Lotem, Bar Ilan University, Ramat Gan, Israel
Courtney Byrd, University of Texas at Austin
Barbara T. Conboy, University of Redlands
Lisa S. Davidson, Washington University School of Medicine
Perla B. Gámez, Loyola University Chicago
Ying Guo, University of Cincinnati
Nancie Im-Bolter, Trent University, Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Jenya Iuzzini-Seigel, Marquette University
Linda Jarmulowicz, University of Memphis
Dawna E. Lewis, Boys Town National Research Hospital
Diane Frome Loeb, University of Nebraska at Kearney
Linda J. Lombardino, University of Florida
Estella P. M. Ma, The University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam
Toby Macrae, Florida State University
Jeannette Mancilla-Martinez, Vanderbilt University
Gigliana Melzi, New York University
Deborah Moncrieff, University of Pittsburgh
Gerard H. Poll, Elmhurst College
Gabriela Simon-Cereijido, California State University, Los Angeles
Joseph Smaldino, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Emily J. Solari, University of California, Davis
Yuuko Uchikoshi, University of California, Davis
Marleen Westerveld, Griffith University, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

Instructions for Authors

For complete details on how to prepare your manuscript and submit it to LSHSS, please consult the Author Resource Center on the ASHA Journals Academy.

This PDF is available to Subscribers Only

View Article Abstract & Purchase Options

To access this pdf, log in to an existing user account, become an associate, or purchase a short-term subscription.

This Issue Buy Now